A Heartfelt Thank You to Four Departing BCF Board Members

The Branford Community Foundation Board of Directors extends deep gratitude to four departing board members who have completed their terms of service: Eunice Lasala, Patricia Bloomquist, Jim Perito, and Janet Ryan (not pictured).

Eunice retires after nine years of service, including six as Board Chair. Pat, Jim and Janet were each appointed in 2012. Jim served as the Chair for the Community Investment Committee, Janet served as Chair for the Development Committee, and Pat as Secretary of the Board of Directors for four years.

Over the course of their service, the Branford Community Foundation moved from a volunteer-driven crew to a professionally staffed organization. In 2012, BCF distributed $53,100 in grants (8) and scholarships. By 2017, that distribution nearly doubled as BCF awarded $111,190 in grants (16), scholarships and leadership initiatives. Thanks to prudent fiscal management and the generosity of our donors, they oversaw the growth of our assets by $1 million dollars to $2.4 million at the end of 2017.

Thanks to committed philanthropists like Eunice, Patricia, Jim and Janet, the Branford Community Foundation has successfully operated since 1980 to help benefit the educational, cultural, health, social and civic needs of the Branford Community. We thank them for their service, and look forward to welcoming new board members who will continue their inspiring work.

You can make a difference by contributing to the Branford Community Foundation. Your tax-deductible donation of any size will help support local programs and agencies that provide assistance to Branford residents. For more information, visit www.branfordcommunityfoundation.org.